Mothers Day Follies.

Its pretty much week two with no hot water here on the Clements Farm.  Week two of no hot water made for week two of no church as well.  I just didn’t have it together this morning.  All of my pants were in the dirty clothes.  Jon let me sleep in. (That was nice.) It didn’t happen.  I blame the devil.  I always do.  We took our time and got the little boys ready as much as we could.  Jon and I took our warm sponge baths, then headed out for Mothers Day breakfast.

I have been craving waffles for two weeks.  CRAVING.  Jon finally caved and took me to the Waffle House in Fort Payne.  Boy, that was a treat.  The place was jumpin on a Sunday morning.  It smelled of bacon grease and maple syrup.  The ladies behind the counter worked in an assembly line of biscuits, hash browns, and waffles.  Waffle bits covered the six constantly active waffle irons.  I watched amazed as the orders were shouted down to the end of the line.  The cup of decaf was mighty fine as well.  It was some of the finest live entertainment I have seen in years.

Then we went to fabulous WalMart.  Good grief, why am I always in that wretched store.  Jon went looking for a file for the chain saw.  I went to see if they had any pickling cukes left over to plant.  Nope and nope.  So as usual, we left with a mish mash of stuff to make the trip worth while.  I got my fishing license.  Woot woot!  We picked up some stuff for my special dinner, and got the heck outta there.

My afternoon adventure was the fishing trip to Sylvania lake.  We each got a couple of bites, then nothing.  Sigh.  There is a rule that I have: Don’t fish with little kids.  Ever. I mean it.  Ever.

But we did.  We took Gideon.  Fun.  Basically we casted a lot.  Untangled Gideon’s “fishing pole” (a stick with line and a hook).  Yelled.  Screamed.  Saw a snake.  Left.  Oh and my Nikon strap broke sending my camera into the dirt.  Yup, fishing with kids.  It’s good for a laugh.  I just laugh, and laugh, and laugh.

When we got home, I ate potato chips until I felt better.

Happy Mothers Day to all you Mothers!!

Leave a Reply

