A Space Oddity.

I thought I was a HUGE sci fi fan, until the other night.  There was a double feature on Dish showing 2001: A Space Odyssey and then 2010.  I realized that I hadn’t seen 2001 in many, many years, so why not make a little memory and watch it with my teenage sci fi doppelgänger?  About 30 minutes into the monkeys, I began to hit the info button.  Was this the right movie?  Maybe DISH accidentally played  “A Quest for Fire.”  No.  I had the right movie.  I just did not remember that much monkey stuff in the film.  Clearly, I was confusing it with all the parody scenes I had seen in other films.  Jacob became irritated and asked if the whole movie was about angry gorillas.  I assured him that it not only would get better, it. would. get. awesome.

Hmmm.  My husband joined us shortly, enticed by the extremely loud music and uber soft dialogue.  We took turns diving for the stereo, turning it down when the score began to blast.  Periodically, I would catch them staring at me in total confusion.  Again, I told them to be patient.  About the time the second monolith appeared, the natives were pretty restless.  They quieted when HAL 9000 came into the picture.   This section of the film was the only part I truly remembered sitting through.  Just as the movie got interesting it launched into some sort of epic acid trip that ended with a poorly decorated hell, Purgatory, alien jail cell sequence.  Jacobs eyebrows had slowly climbed up his forehead and were now in his hairline.  He muttered, “What the heck?” several times.  Then it ended with the baby in the amniotic sac staring at me.  Condemning me for all that is wrong with the world.

Jacob and I talked about the movie, both totally confused about what we had just seen.  I told him that George Lucas and all the greats looked to this movie for sci fi movie inspiration.  He said “So what, this is the Latin of science fiction?”  Perfect.

Leave a Reply

