This much is true…

Now that I am WELL into my 30’s I have learned some things about life on this rock.  Some of those things are stupid, pointless, and just plain stink.  Some of those things I wish I had known when I was young, but alas, I didn’t, so there.

I have learned that opinions are truly like bottoms.  Everybody has one.  Hopefully.  If you don’t have one, I certainly did not mean to offend.  I just didn’t want to use the OTHER word associated with opinions.  For every belief there is an equal and opposite belief.  I have learned that no matter what one believes in their heart of hearts, it may not stop them from taking a polar opposite stance just to tick someone off.  Or, in some cases they will pipe in with a “here, here” and an “amen” at whatever you say, then criticize you for it as soon as you leave their presence.  Oh well.  Gotta love ’em/me.  (We ALL do it.)

I have learned that I am capable of so much more than I ever realized.  The thirties have brought me a sense of stability, at least physically.  I know that if I want to learn a new dance, a new craft, make art, I CAN do it.  All I have to do is put my mind and body to it.  I may fail a billion times, but I can get it.  In fact I “get” a lot of things now that eluded me as a gangly teen.

I have learned the ridiculousness of things that were taught to me as a child.  Everyone goes through this discovery.  Not everything we were taught in school was kosher.  Some of it was down right stupid and blatantly skewed.  Most of it was part of a grand social experiment still running to this day.  I believe the division in this country is the manufactured result of all that garbage.  Someday the results will be printed in the New England Journal of Medicine or Psychology Today.  After that we will all get mad and go home.  Maybe we will go back to cooking over a fire.  Who cares?  It wouldn’t matter anyway.

I have learned that people will blow your mind.   Either with their being completely daft, completely amazing, or completely maniacal.   I have found there is little room for much else in daily life that isn’t a partial shading of those three traits.

I have learned that life can be sucked up by stupid, mindless activities that waste years of perfectly good time and air.

I have learned that truth, faith, nature and time are treasures.  These are NOT renewable resources.  Make war for them.  Guard them.  They count.  They have meaning.  Without them love is impossible and unimaginable.   They take your breath away.

King Solomon must have been in his 30’s when he wrote Ecclesiastes.  Chasing the wind is all we do.

….and it’s amazing.

Leave a Reply

