Garden Time!!

A couple of weeks ago I ordered all of my seeds from Territorial Seed.  With a large seed order comes a need for lots of extra supplies.  We are on a budget.  A BUDGET.  Not a Starbucks budget either.  You know, where you are poor, but you still have money for 6 dollar lattes.  Yeah, we are about seven rungs below THAT kind of budget.  With that in mind, I had to be really careful about blowing a bunch of money on seed starting kits.  Those suckers can add up quick!

While I wandered the garden aisle and stared at the kits, I had a flash.  I remembered seeing a blog that showed how to grow starts in sandwich bags.  Thankfully I was in the big W store and could get potting soil AND sandwich bags.  Yes!  This particular store had boxes of the plain ole fold top sandwich bags.  I bought 300 for about two bucks.  A few days later I had Gideon and Jacob help me fill the bags with a mini Mel’s Mix from the Squarefoot Garden book.  Once the bags were full, I took to Pinterest to find the site that gave me the idea.  Whoops.  Wasn’t Pinterest.  Couldn’t find it anywhere.  I Googled “starting seeds in sandwich bags” and it returned with a bunch of ways to start seeds with paper towels in sandwich bags.  Uh-oh.  Did I do a typical Liz thing and remember something all wrong???  I kept searching.  I didn’t find the same site, but I found one that was just as great.  Click here for the link.

I tenderly planted about three seeds per bag, moistened the soil, and folded the tops.  It took a day or so to see the little greenhouses do their thing.  Another week, and BAM, sproutlets!!!  Even better, I have about 200 bags left that I will put to good use.  I hope the baggies don’t get ruined in the process.  I don’t want to create a lot of garbage.  I’d like to reuse them.  Starter kits at the store produce a little garbage too, so I guess I’ll be okay.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 responses

  1. Pingback: Frugal Garden Fail | Washington Pharm Girl

  2. I’m just starting my garden too! This is the first time I’ve ever gardened, so I have no idea what I’m doing. None. Cross your fingers for me.

    • Gardening is fun, until it gets BIG. This year we are going from hobby garden, to survival garden. Last year our garden froze, was hit with a tornado, destroyed by dogs, etc. Hate to see what happens this year when our livelihood depends on it! LOL! Let’s cross our fingers together. WISH HARD!

  3. Pingback: Drying Blooms & Saving Seeds « Goldie's Garden

Leave a Reply

