Popcorn Brain

I’m willing to admit that I am an internet junkie.  It’s bad.  I need help.  This IS a cry for help.  There is no need to check Facebook 60 plus time a day.  (That’s a conservative number.)

I caught a news cast that explained the popcorn brain phenomena.  Seems that our simple cave lady brains cannot process all of the tidbits of info we get.  Facts, stats, and blurbs go pop, pop, pop all the day long.  I think it is sucking my brain dry.  My words don’t come out right.  I can’t finish a thought, or a sentence.  It’s starting to scare me a little.

Today I had a visit from a sweet lady who goes to our church.  She said she struggles with popcorn brain as well.  We became a puddle of confessions.   The hours spent staring at a screen weighing heavily on our minds.  I had a revelation.  I told her that I check the computer, go do dishes, check the computer, change a diaper, check the computer, fold laundry, etc.  Then I said it out loud.

“What I am doing is Popcorn Parenting!”  I was stunned at my own admission.

Now what?  I know that I am incapable of using the computer in a healthy way.  At least right now.  So, what do I do?  Quit cold turkey?  I look up patterns, recipes, news, other blogs….I mean…do I go back to books?  I gotta buy pattern books?  SO much is FREE on the web!  Maybe that is the trap.  “Come to me, I am freeeeeeeeeee.”

I have no idea what to do.  Except quit.

Totally not ready to do that.

Leave a Reply

